“When Your Day Sets You Up to Miss Your Workout”

When I started getting back into my daily workout regimen my son was about 4-5 months old. He didn’t sleep through the night until he was 7 months old and even then his bedtime routine was not as cut in stone as it is today (6:30pm-6:30am). There were nights he would cry for hours and I would be up from 3am and have to get up to go to work at 7am. I would watch 3 boys for 10 hours and then go straight to the gym for 2 hours. It was not the ideal situation; I was exhausted and barely saw my spouse. But, “Never be afraid of change. You may lose something good, but gain something even better”. I was losing sleep, time with my significant other, and I was moody, but I was gaining self confidence, energy to play with my son, and ultimately a new fitness journey (body building) that lead me to meet new people. Believe me, I am not trying to devalue your time with your families, but days like this are hopefully few and far between! And some small time sacrifices here and there can be well worth it. Sometimes we don’t get the exact 7 hours of sleep we need, or a meeting runs into your set workout time, or your child becomes sick. But do you tell your boss you can’t come in because you were up all night and you’re exhausted? Don’t tell the gym the same thing. Next time your day sets you up to fail push through, go to the gym, and gain that something better!

*read “Exercise: you don’t have time not to” for a similar post !

Leave a Reply

