Is What You Want, REALLY What You Want?

“You probably know to ask yourself, ‘What do I want?’, Here’s a better question  “

Right now I am a working/stay at home mom and since I graduated three years ago with my Masters I have been trying to get a “foot in the door”job to jumpstart my career. Three years of interviews and rejections definitely wears on your body, mind, and soul. My frustration level has reached an all time high and then my father sends me this article. I not only enjoyed reading it to help me in my personal situation but I love how he also mentions fitness.

“You probably know to ask yourself, ‘What do I want?’, Here’s a better question ” is the title of an article written by Mark Manson that completely altered my perspective not only on my personal life but fitness as well. Many of the difficulties and challenges that you face in your personal life can also be related to your fitness journey. I wrote a blog post a while ago about how saving for a vacation equals long hours at work & a second job. These “sacrifices” are very similar to the challenges you face to achieve your fitness goal: early mornings or late nights & declining social events so you can afford your gym membership.

Mr. Manson talks about how we all want the perfect life: romantic relationship full of sex, the second vacation home on the beach, and a 4 hour work week. What we all seem to skip over and miss is that they didn’t just wake up one day married and rich or with a six pack of abs. What you don’t see are the 60 hour work weeks or the 5am gym sessions before they take their children to school and go to their 9-5 job.

Many of us want the results, the 6 pack abs, but we don’t want to endure the sacrifices that get us to those results. When we say, “I want to lose 10 pounds!”, actually should be stated, “Do I want to put in the sacrifices to lose 10 pounds?”. Mr. Manson states that if you really wanted that second vacation home or the lean physique then you wouldn’t mind and actually would enjoy the sacrifices and struggles on the journey to your goal.

Think about what you want, who you want to be, where you see yourself in 5 years…If you really want it then do you see yourself enduring the sacrifices head on?

*My first bodybuilding competition Sept 2015. You definitely have to really want to do it because of the strict diet of 16 long weeks of prep for a competition show! Many just want the lean physique and not the hard work to get there & many do not compete again…

IMG_4215

 

 

Leave a Reply

