Mental Toughness Exercise: Find Instrinsic Motivation 

Intrinsic Motivation

As my fitness journey has gone from running, to swimming, to bodybuilding I have only succeeded and pushed myself to higher limits when I have found my own personal intrinsic motivation. Extrinsic motivation for example, rewarding yourself with a pedicure or new workout clothes if you went to the gym 5 days this week, will only motivate you in your fitness journey in the short term. If you want to succeed, crush your goals, and have a fitness lifestyle you have to find your intrinsic motivation. Intrinsic motivation is not as easily defined as extrinsic motivation is. If you asked me to describe my intrinsic motivation right now I would need a few minutes to reflect and think deeply about it. There was no deciding moment or event where I can say I found my intrinsic motivation. I had intrinsic motivation before having my son – I wanted to gain the normal amount of weight during pregnancy- but I had to re-find it after giving birth to my son. It was very hard to wake up and even get off the couch because I was tired and quite frankly had zero motivation of any kind. In the beginning I had to force myself to put workout clothes on and go to the gym, which usually rarely happened. I was just going through the motions of eating my vegetables, going to the gym twice a week, and lifting weights. All of a sudden I found myself running out the door, counting down the minutes until it was just me, my sweat, and the weights. If you find yourself having to talk yourself into heading out for a run everyday or only going to the gym once a week just keep going through the motions, keep pushing yourself, and one day you will look behind you and find you already found your own intrinsic motivation.

What is your intrinsic motivation?

img_6144

Leave a Reply

